There is life after silence!

I’m back! After almost 10 weeks I am finaly ready (as in, I have a good coffee and a nice cake in front of me ;)) to share a bit more about the America experience, so here we go!

Around 3 weeks ago I started my internship at Rhythm Engineering, a very fast growing company, delivering real time adaptive traffic light control systems. They are planning to tripple there revenues this year and they have hired around 25 people in the last 9 months. Currently they have 5 new employees in the interview or training phase, and they also find time to learn me a little bit about the company and the product.

Nice ride for the first day in Silicon Valley

My responsibilities will be mainly divided amongst 3 different sections of the company, Sales, Operations and Administration. I will do the weekly sales forecast, I work on the P&L, cashflow and balance statements and I’m working on re-inventing their inventory system. Oh and I help with preparing quotes, increasing the efficiency of the sales team and I help with some miscellanious tasks (like making coffee), it is to say that I am pretty busy.

The CEO of the company is Reggie Chandra, a traffic engineer, double master and phd, with 3 previous startups. He will be my mentor in the entrepreneurship field during my internship, and he is constantly challenging me to increase my knowledge and think about the decisions founders have to make. Very inspiring and helpfull for me, although it also amounts to a lot of work; he has me read around 1 business book a week and listen to audio tapes in my car. A bit an overkill I thought in the beginning, but I have to say that is works out really well.

So the next 2 and a half months I am staying in the Marriott Execustay on 909 Walnut street in downtown Kansas City, 17th floor. Very nice apartment, I’ll upload some picuteres on facebook and the picasa that I’m setting up. My buddy here in KCMO is Dilip Parasi, he is from India, and in the weekends we are totally owning the Irish pub in the Country Club Plaza area. Very nice to have some company while drinking beers and socializing with the locals.

Ok, that’s it for now, a very short update, I’ll be posting more here in the comming week, so that I have some room to tell you about the past 8 weeks which where absolutely fantastic!

God Bless America! (ahum…)

Treats:

What a view!

Who is that dude!?

About erikkoerselman
I'm currently finishing my Bachelor degee in Aerospace Engineering at the University of Technology Delft. I'm also persuing my Master at the same faculty, in the direction of Design and Production of Composite Structures. Aside or together with my studies I'm following several business courses, which should enable me to become a succesful entrepreneur after my graduation. I'll write this blog to document my experiences during my 'entrepreneur' internship at the Kauffman Foundation in the USA.

Leave a Reply

